COUNTY OF MENARD)) SS. STATE OF ILLINOIS)

The Menard County Board of Commissioners, along with the Menard County Planning Commission and the Menard County Zoning Board of Appeals met on Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 6:30 p.m. at the Menard County Courthouse, 102 S. Seventh Street, Petersburg, Illinois. Commissioners Bob Lott, Allan Anderson, Jeff Fore, Ed Whitcomb and Troy Cummings were physically present. A quorum was present. County Clerk Patricia Duncheon, Zoning Administrator Brian Hollenkamp, County Assessor Jason LeMar and State's Attorney Kevin Tippey were present. County Coordinator Dara Worthington was also present. Members of the Planning Commission including: Ben Kinningham, Ed Blair, John Dixon, Rod Reich, Carolyn Greer, Terry Entwistle, John Greenan II, Julie Wankel and Mark Churchill were present. Members of the Zoning Board of Appeals including: Barry Bass, Tom Eldridge, Steve Ozella, Karen Stott and Steven Wilken were also present.

Chairperson Robert Lott called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

County Assessor LeMar opened the Special Meeting by discussing the need for an update to the comprehensive plan. LeMar stated that there are areas within both the comprehensive plan and zoning ordinance that need to be improved due to the passage of time.

Assessor LeMar stated that an inquiry had been made regarding the Agricultural District. A lengthy explanation ensued.

The 30 Acre Rule was discussed at length and there were many opinions and suggestions regarding this such as: residential lots, the economy, road districts, rural water issues and spot zoning.

Commissioner Bob Lott suggested that a committee be formed with representatives from all three boards in order to review the various rules and regulations. After six months, the three boards can convene another special meeting and that committee can then make recommendations to the entire body consisting of the three boards for the revision of Menard County Comprehensive Plan and the Menard County Zoning Ordinance. Members of this new committee will be; Commissioner Jeff Fore, Commissioner Ed Whitcomb, Ben Kiningham, Terry Entwistle, John Greenan, Rod Riech, Tom Eldridge and Steve Wilken.

Adjournment

With no other business coming before the Boards, Commissioner Cummings moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:58 p.m. Member Eldridge seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.